The Proliferation of Pink

The omnipresent pink and its myriad of saturations has shed its overtly feminine connotations (slightly) and evolved to be the most coveted and must-have outfitting shade.  Why? Because it’s both flattering and infuses statement with a casual-cool nonchalance. It can easily be dressed-up or down and worked into endless outfits.

Personally, a love of pink stems from my childhood. Miss Simone’s School of Performing Arts embraced the colour in their yearly pantomimes, of which I was front and centre stage. Adorned in head-to-toe pink and complete with a curly platinum faux wig and plenty of glitter, I was the picture of 90s suburban Australian femininity. Our concerts were staged at the local shopping mall.

At the tender age of five, I insisted my walls be adorned in saccharine pink; one dominant hot pink wall, complemented with three paler ones. I was in a saturated pink bubble, punctuated with Barbies and Marilyn Monroe memorabilia.

As time surpassed and teenagerhood flew, pink became less relevant in my wardrobe and life, and more of a nostalgic pastime. It featured in the form of a subtle (I reiterate, subtle) accessory, lipstick and the occasion nail varnish, but never more. Yet, my bedroom walls remained bejeweled. Somehow, I couldn’t entirely eradicate the sentimental shade from my life.

Whether we embrace or disdain, pink, remains relevant for both sexes. Despite its genderist connotations, this shade is not solely sartorially associated with women. Consider, the dapper and unequivocally handsome Robert Redford, circa. 1974. As Jay Gatsby in the Great Gatsby he donned a pale pink Ralph Lauren linen suit. The result? The epitome of dashing.

No colour has successfully infused itself within the realms of popular culture more than pink. The classic 1986 film, ‘Pretty in Pink’ was entirely centred on the shade. Marilyn Monroe’s most renowned song (‘Happy Birthday Mr. President at a close second), ‘Diamonds are a Girl’s Best Friend’, showcased the voluptuous star encrusted with diamonds offset with a hot pink dress and full length gloves. ‘Think Pink’ was the title number of Funny Face, where Audrey Hepburn and Fred Astaire twirl and frolic in commemoration of the colour.

On a more modern note, the Autumn Winter shows of 2017 were soaked in pink. The Italians (naturally) indulged ravenously in the favoured palette. Gucci’s show was garnished in variations of the celebrated hue, envisioned in the form of an elevated shoe, pussy bow blouse and patterned dress. Fuchsia remained Valentino’s preferred shade, while Balenciaga interjected his penchant for pink with pattern.

It’s soothing, calming, nostalgic and frankly, fabulous. It’s fun and happy, and remains always relevant.

Whilst my adornment of the colour may be a little more restrained, my appreciation and love has never wavered. It’s still my favourite colour and makes its presence known in the form of a diary, headphones, post it notes and pens. Every day mundane accessories now have a slightly more elevated appeal.

But, I am proud to state that it’s my chosen colour of my childhood. My walls remain intact and Marilyn still hangs; pink still has a dominant place in my life and in my nostalgia. I may not (sadly) be decked-out head-to-toe in the hue, but it’s still ever present.

Sadly, my time as a dance prodigy at Miss Simone’s School of Performing Arts is not.

Leave a Reply

